# Government

#### Names:

*conventional long form:* Republic of Mauritius *conventional short form:* Mauritius

### Digraph: MP

Type: parliamentary democracy

Capital: Port Louis

Administrative divisions: 9 districts and 3 dependencies\*; Agalega Islands\*, Black River, Cargados Carajos\*, Flacq, Grand Port, Moka, Pamplemousses, Plaines Wilhems, Port Louis, Riviere du Rempart, Rodrigues\*, Savanne

Independence: 12 March 1968 (from UK)

National holiday: Independence Day, 12 March (1968)

Constitution: 12 March 1968; amended 12 March 1992

**Legal system:** based on French civil law system with elements of English common law in certain areas

Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal

### **Executive branch:**

*chief of state:* President Cassam UTEEM (since 1 July 1992); Vice President Rabindranath GHURBURRON (since 1 July 1992)

*head of government:* Prime Minister Sir Anerood JUGNAUTH (since 12 June 1982); Deputy Prime Minister Prem NABABSING (since 26 September 1990)

*cabinet:* Council of Ministers; appointed by the president on recommendation of the prime minister

## Legislative branch: unicameral

Legislative Assembly: elections last held on 15 September 1991 (next to be held by 15 September 1996); results - MSM/MMM 53%, MLP/PMSD 38%; seats - (66 total) MSM/MMM alliance 59 (MSM 29, MMM 26, OPR 2, MTD 2), MLP/PMSD 4 (MLP 3, PMSD 1); note - the Supreme Court denied the assignment of 3 seats to the MSM

# Judicial branch: Supreme Court

# Political parties and leaders:

government coalition: Militant Socialist Movement (MSM), A. JUGNAUTH; Mauritian Militant Resurgence (RMM), Prem NABABSING (less 10 legislators under the leadership of Paul BERENGER, now voting with the opposition); Mauritian Social Democratic Party (PMSD), X. DUVAL; Organization of the People of Rodrigues (OPR), Louis Serge CLAIR; Democratic Labor Movement (MTD), Anil BAICHOO *opposition:* Mauritian Labor Party (MLP), Navin RAMGOOLMAN; MMM-Berenger Faction, Paul BERENGER; Socialist Workers Front, Sylvio MICHEL

### Other political or pressure groups: various labor unions

Member of: ACCT, ACP, AfDB, C, CCC, ECA, FAO, G-77, GATT, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, INMARSAT, INTELSAT, INTERPOL, IOC, ISO (correspondent), ITU, NAM, OAU, PCA, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WCL, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTO

### **Diplomatic representation in US:**

chief of mission: Ambassador Anund Priyay NEEWOOR
chancery: Suite 441, 4301 Connecticut Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20008
telephone: [1] (202) 244-1491, 1492
FAX: [1] (202) 966-0983

### US diplomatic representation:

*chief of mission:* Ambassador Leslie M. ALEXANDER *embassy:* 4th Floor, Rogers House, John Kennedy Street, Port Louis *mailing address:* use embassy street address *telephone:* [230] 208-9763 through 9767 *FAX:* [230] 208-9534

Flag: four equal horizontal bands of red (top), blue, yellow, and green

# **Defense Forces**

**Branches:** National Police Force (includes the paramilitary Special Mobile Force or SMF, Special Support Units or SSU, and National Coast Guard)

**Manpower availability:** males age 15-49 321,947; males fit for military service 163,904 (1995 est.)

**Defense expenditures:** exchange rate conversion - \$11.2 million, 0.4% of GDP (FY92/93)